security

Best Anti-Piracy Ad

They need to make more ads like this.

Sorry but, are you a human?

Ha! It’s Google’s anti robot technology where when you signup for a service, they present you with a few letters and number in picture form and you have to enter them in text form. Of course, only humans will be able to enter the text, therefore, keeping the robots out!

The secret history of hacking

A must watch for all geeks.

Dreamhost Leaked thousands of FTP Passwords!

Good thing is that I didn’t get this email. Because Dreamhost leaked 3,500 FTP passwords!

From: DreamHost Security Team [email protected]>
Subject: URGENT: FTP Account Security Concerns…[email protected]>

Hello -

This email is regarding a potential security concern related to your
‘XXXX’ FTP account.

We have detected what appears to be the exploit of a number of
accounts belonging to DreamHost customers, and it appears that your
account was one of those affected.

We’re still working to determine how this occurred, but it appears
that a 3rd party found a way to obtain the password information
associated with approximately 3,500 separate FTP accounts and has
used that information to append data to the index files of customer
sites using automated scripts (primarily for search engine
optimization purposes).

Our records indicate that only roughly 20% of the accounts accessed -
less than 0.15% of the total accounts that we host – actually had
any changes made to them. Most accounts were untouched.

We ask that you do the following as soon as possible:

1. Immediately change your FTP password, as well as that of any other
accounts that may share the same password. We recommend the use of
passwords containing 8 or more random letters and numbers. You may
change your FTP password from the web panel (”Users” section, “Manage
Users” sub-section).

2. Review your hosted accounts/sites and ensure that nothing has been
uploaded or changed that you did not do yourself. Many of the
unauthorized logins did not result in changes at all (the intruder
logged in, obtained a directory listing and quickly logged back out)
but to be sure you should carefully review the full contents of your
account.

Again, only about 20% of the exploited accounts showed any
modifications, and of those the only known changes have been to site
index documents (ie. ‘index.php’, ‘index.html’, etc – though we
recommend looking for other changes as well).

It appears that the same intruder also attempted to gain direct
access to our internal customer information database, but this was
thwarted by protections we have in place to prevent such access.
Similarly, we have seen no indication that the intruder accessed
other customer account services such as email or MySQL databases.

In the last 24 hours we have made numerous significant behind-the-
scenes changes to improve internal security, including the discovery
and patching to prevent a handful of possible exploits.

We will, of course, continue to investigate the source of this
particular security breach and keep customers apprised of what we
find. Once we learn more, we will be sure to post updates as they
become available to our status weblog:

http://www.dreamhoststatus.com/

Thank you for your patience. If you have any questions or concerns,
please let us know.

Someone is trying to be me!

Today, I opened my Email and I found a email from own email address telling me to go to some weird forum. However, I knew that this was a fake so I took a look at the header and indeed it was. If you got anything from me that looks suspicious, take a look at the header and see if it really is me.
X-Message-Status: n:0
X-SID-PRA: [email protected]
X-SID-Result: SoftFail
X-Message-Info: txF49lGdW40hS9Id2yBkAr37eBHCPhxD13vCtjbg+7PM7Ie16jne9NzMN8kmO9ay
Received: from gladiator.dnsslave.com ([65.99.198.101]) by bay0-mc10-f6.bay0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.2668);
Wed, 23 May 2007 13:41:14 -0700
Received: from nobody by gladiator.dnsslave.com with local (Exim 4.63)
(envelope-from <[email protected]>)
id 1HqxdS-000464-Eb
for [email protected]; Wed, 23 May 2007 14:40:42 -0600
To: [email protected]
Subject: Invited!
From: [email protected]
Message-Id: <[email protected]>
Date: Wed, 23 May 2007 14:40:42 -0600
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname – gladiator.dnsslave.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain – hotmail.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID – [99 99] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain – gladiator.dnsslave.com
Return-Path: [email protected]
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 23 May 2007 20:41:14.0399 (UTC) FILETIME=[B48BF2F0:01C79D7A]

You have been invited by a friend to join jocknet.net/forums/ \n you can reister at jocknet.net/forums/register.php \n Hope you enjoy the site and see your friend there!

So what’s [email protected]??

iTunes 7.1.2 DRM cracked

“This utility will scrub DRM from YOUR music files and make a backup copy of the originals for safe keeping. Great for iPod owners who now have another brand of music player – iTunes will convert your AAC files to MP3 when you’re ready to run away from Apple. I’m sure this story will be buried by DMCA lovers”

Still hot from digg. And DMCA hasn’t taken any actions yet.

http://www.hymn-project.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1553

BBC Broadcast HD-DVD key

What are they going to do with them now?

Watch the stream.

Ok, one last post of today

Ok, one last post of today (read below for real posts) before I go to sleep.

I just want to cheer on for digg and the freedom of speech

Vive La Revolution!

Update: To the Digg rebellion

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/6615047.stm

Digg’s rebellion is now on the front page of BBC News! What is the HD-DVD ‘people’ going to do now?

Leakage of HD-DVD processing key

HD-DVD processing key is leaked today to the public allowing anyone to decrpt and play most HD-DVD movies in Linux. Movie studios are going ballistic over this leak, so Digg the story up and make it reach the front page. The first time, the story got removed.

The first story about this key was deleted when it reached the digg front page however, there is a second one at 8000 diggs the time I am writing this.

Key: 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0

http://rudd-o.com/archives/2007/04/30/spread-this-number/

http://duggmirror.com/linux_unix/Spread_this_number_Now/

http://digg.com/linux_unix/Spread_This_Number_Again